Andy Diehl On Being a Doctor Essay Award

Few professions are as inherently dramatic as medicine. It is no surprise, then, that many physicians have recorded their experiences through essays, stories, and poems especially for an audience of their peers. These stories give voice to the joys and the frustrations, the magic and the sorrow we share.

Named in honor of Dr. Andy Diehl, former Governor of the Texas Southern region for his contributions to the Texas Chapter as a leader, educator and internist. This award is given to the winner of the On Being a Doctor creative writing competition for ACP Medical Student and Resident members. The competition was first introduced at the 2004 Annual Meeting and has become one of the most notable awards of the chapter.

The winning On Being a Doctor entry will:

  • Receive recognition at the Annual Awards Luncheon
  •  Present as part of the General Session during the Annual Meeting 
  • Receive expenses paid travel to Annual Chapter Meeting
  • Receive expenses paid travel to attend ACP IM 2018
  • Be published in the Texas Internist, chapter newsletter (1st place winning entries will be published)

Some Tips on Writing the Narrative or Policy Essay by Jerald Winakur, MD, MACP, CMD

On Being a Doctor Collection

TXACP members' On Being a Doctor submissions, published in the Texas Internist:

2016 Annual Competition Winner - "Start of Something New" by Thomas Das, TXACP Student Member, UT Southwestern.

2015 Annual Competition Winner - "Valeria's Team" by Shaoli Chaudhuri, TXACP Student Member, UTHSCSA

2014 Annual Competition Winner -"My Patient" by Kelsey Bryant, TXACP Student Member, UTHSCSA

2013 Annual Competition Winner -"White Gown" by Susan Lampley, TXACP Student Member, Paul L. Foster School of Medicine

2012 Annual Competition Winner  -"Lessons from My Father" by Kristin D'Silva, TXACP Student Member, Texas Southwestern Medical Center

2011 Annual Competition Winner - "No One Dies Alone" by Evan Ross, TXACP Student Member, UT Southwestern

2010 Annual Competition Winner - "Son of the Soil" by Anoop Sheshadri, TXACP Student Member, UT Southwestern

Physician Submission - "The Roadrunner" by Marc Shabot, MD, FACP