Dr. Andy Diehl On Being a Doctor 2023

Few professions are as inherently dramatic as medicine. It is no surprise, then, that many physicians have recorded their experiences through essays, stories, and poems especially for an audience of their peers. These stories give voice to the joys and the frustrations, the magic, and the sorrow we share.

Named in honor of Dr. Andy Diehl, former Governor of the Texas Southern region for his contributions to the Texas Chapter as a leader, educator, and internist, this award is given to the winner of the On Being a Doctor creative writing competition for ACP Medical Student and Resident members. The competition was first introduced at the 2004 Annual Meeting and has become one of the most notable awards of the chapter.

Submissions for 2023 are due by September 11, 2023. The winner will be announced at the TXACP Annual Meeting in South Padre Island.

The 2023 theme is Building Bridges: Guiding Our Patients Through Times of Transition 

Submissions for 2023 are now closed

The winning On Being a Doctor entry:

  • Receives recognition at the Annual Awards Luncheon
  • Presents as part of the General Session during the Annual Meeting 
  • Receives expenses paid travel to Annual Chapter Meeting
  • Receives expenses paid travel to attend ACP IM 2023
  • Is published in the Texas Internist, chapter newsletter

On Being a Doctor Collection

TXACP members' On Being a Doctor submissions, published in the Texas Internist:

2018 Annual Competition Winner - "Reflections" by Roshni Ray, TXACP Student Member, UT Health Science Center San Antonio.

2016 Annual Competition Winner - "Start of Something New"  by Thomas Das, TXACP Student Member, UT Southwestern.

2015 Annual Competition Winner - "Valeria's Team"  by Shaoli Chaudhuri, TXACP Student Member, UTHSCSA

2014 Annual Competition Winner - "My Patient"  by Kelsey Bryant, TXACP Student Member, UTHSCSA

2013 Annual Competition Winner - "White Gown"  by Susan Lampley, TXACP Student Member, Paul L. Foster School of Medicine

2012 Annual Competition Winner - "Lessons from My Father"  by Kristin D'Silva, TXACP Student Member, Texas Southwestern Medical Center

2011 Annual Competition Winner - "No One Dies Alone"  by Evan Ross, TXACP Student Member, UT Southwestern

2010 Annual Competition Winner - "Son of the Soil"  by Anoop Sheshadri, TXACP Student Member, UT Southwestern

2009 Annual Competition Winner - "The Roadrunner"  by Marc Shabot, MD, FACP